A Behaviorist Perspective

Knock, Knock or Ring, Ring

:: Who’s there?

Pavlov!

::I forgot to feed my dogs!

Ok, so maybe that wasn’t the best intro to a blog ever, but it is better than a boring definition. I will get right to it, since this assignment in this class is supposed to reflect professional work I will be turning off my “blogging language.” There will be no more wise cracks and no more Mrs. Nice. This blog is now total business with correct grammar (hopefully) and APA format (optimistically). Yes, I am stalling.

In this blog post, I will analyze the two instructional strategies that embed technology: “Reinforcing Effort and Providing Recognition” and “Assigning Homework and Providing Practice” and how they correlate with the principles of a behaviorist learning theory.

(This is where I would normally say something like, HUH, COME AGAIN? But since this is a professional blog I will not say it…)

I will try to explain in the best way I can. Perhaps this is too much writing and since you saw my post is too long you will not read it (been there).

According to Lever-Duffy and McDonald (2008), “behaviorism sees learning as the response to an external stimulus” (p.15). Teachers who are advocates of behaviorism will use rewards and punishments in their classrooms by rewarding good behaviors and punishing bad ones (Orey, 2001). For example, a physical education teacher may say to their students that if they work really hard today, maybe they can have a choice day the following lesson.

Reinforcing effort is a good thing, right? “The instructional strategy of reinforcing effort enhances students’ understanding of the relationship between effort and achievement by addressing their attitudes and beliefs about learning” (Pitler, Hubbell, & Kahn, 2012, p.57). Adding on to my example above, a student may not know what exactly working hard means in order to have the choice day. They may run two laps and that is really hard to them, but to another student two laps is a warm up. A physical education teacher could create rubrics and even have the class create a rubric to describe what effort will look like to them. Also, students could keep track of their effort and achievement on a class blog (Pitler et al., 2012).

Check for understanding Sign
(http://www.3rdgradethoughts.com/2012/03/management-monday-checking-for.html)

Providing recognition is second nature to a teacher. Great job you ran the mile! Nice form! Keep up the awesome work! Yes, I have heard that this can have negative effects on motivation, so why do I still do it? If students believe what a teacher is saying it can promote student engagement and decrease behavioral problems (Pitler, Hubbell, & Kahn, 2012). A physical education teacher could use an online source like a blog or Flickr to upload photos as a means of recognition (2012).

If one asks a room full of teachers if they assigned homework in their classroom, I am almost positive half of them would raise their hand. “Homework and practice give students a chance to review and apply what they have learned” (Pitler et al., 2012, p. 167).

So how do all of these definitions connect? In my analysis, behaviorists would use praise and reinforcement often in their classroom. They will praise the good behaviors by saying good job or allowing a choice a day. In turn, they will punish the students who have unacceptable behavior. However, I do not believe that a true behaviorist would create a rubric on what acceptable behavior would look like because one learns as a response to the environment, not specific mental activity (Lever-Duffy & McDonald, 2008). Behaviorists may assign homework in the classroom for all the wrong reasons. If the students are talking and the teacher cannot get a word in, they may say something like, “fine,you are just going to have to have this as homework!” For instance, a behaviorist may use homework as a punishment. Assigning homework should allow students to deepen their understanding. Who wants to deepen their understanding when it is a punishment?

Do I support B.F. Skinner’s, Pavlov, and Watson’s theory of behaviorism in my physical education classes? Stay tuned and I may answer in another post!

References:

Lever-Duffy, J., & McDonald, J. (2008). Theoretical foundations (Laureate Education, Inc., custom ed.). Boston, MA: Pearson Education, Inc.

Orey, M. (Ed.). (2001). Emerging perspectives on learning, teaching, and technology. Retrieved from http://projects.coe.uga.edu/epltt/index.php?title=Main_Page

Pitler, H., Hubbell, E. R., & Kuhn, M. (2012). Using technology with classroom instruction that works (2nd ed.). Alexandria, VA: ASCD.

5 thoughts on “A Behaviorist Perspective

  1. Reagan,

    Your statement that teachers providing recognition to students is second nature struck a chord with me. I believe that what a teacher says to a student really does have an impact on effort and motivation. Students want to hear that they are “doing good” and they want to know that their efforts are appreciated and recognized. Not only does this encourage students to continue putting forth effort, but it also helps to foster a positive and meaningful relationship between teacher and student. In my school, we are bombarded these days with the question, “What are you doing to foster relationships with your students?” Gone are the days, at least in my school district anyway, of students showing up to school well fed, clothed properly, emotionally stable, well rested, and ready to learn. Students are coming to school with, in some cases, multiple issues. As teachers, we are charged with learning the backgrounds and issues our students are experiencing. We are further charged with attempting to develop a relationship based on trust with our students in order to impact student learning and diminish behavior/discipline issues. I certainly agree with developing relationship[s with students to positively impact student learning. In fact, I have developed relationships with students ever since I started teaching. The challenge today is, there are so many students in my school who need strong relationships with teachers, etc.. I find myself sometimes spending more time being a counselor than a teacher.

    Todd Leonhardt
    Hamilton, Ohio
    band Director 6-12

    Like

    1. I could not agree with you more Todd! I wish all teachers had that much passion. There are so many students who need a good influence in their life. And like you said, sometimes we do have to be a counselor more than a teacher. I am often reminded of a quote that I came across- “A teacher is never a giver of truth; he is a guide, a pointer to the truth that each student must find for himself.” -Bruce Lee

      Like

  2. Hi Raegan,

    I really enjoyed reading your blog! I can tell you have experience with blogging and you can make it easy to read.

    I could not figure out for sure if you support homework as a way of practice. I agree with you that homework might seem at times a type of punishment. It really depends on how the teacher establishes the homework policy as part of the expectations at the beginning of the school year. but I fully support the ideas that homework is part of the learning process, providing opportunities for extra practice. I really cannot see a student making much progress in learning a foreign language at a high school level without a lot of practice. In today’s classrooms teachers can make the homework more interesting by having the students work in collaboration and by introducing technology, such as games, interactive quizzes and tutorials. For example, my daughter came from soccer practice the other day and she was very determined to work on a math website provided by the school. She actually practices her second grade math skills having fun with her tablet.

    I am really curious to know what are your thoughts on homework assignments?

    Thank you

    Like

    1. Hi Florentina!
      Thank you for the kind words!

      I noticed that I wasn’t very clear about my homework view and I apologize. I absolutely think having homework in critical because like I have said practice does make perfect. However, there are some “seasoned” teachers out there that give assignments and homework as punishment. I have had a student complain to me because their English teachers gave them a two page essay due the next day because they could not be quiet in class. (I know there are two sides to every story and kids LOVE to exaggerate) but if a teacher does that, I believe it’s unacceptable. I would never punish my PE students with more laps or push ups if they act out. I want them to LOVE exercise not dread it!

      Like

  3. Hi Raegan,

    I absolutely loved reading your blog! I can tell you are a fantastic teacher by the way you engage your audience and I’m sure your students really enjoy being in your class.

    In regards to the debate on homework, I support homework as well on certain conditions. Like you stated, homework should NEVER be a punishment, rather a means to practice and apply previous learning. Giving homework as a punishment defeats the purpose. I also think technology is a great way to apply and practice this learning. For example, having students practice spelling or vocabulary using “Spelling City” or assigning math practice on a program like “Think Central” that aligns with the Common Core are all great tools to practice and apply previously learned ideas. Similar to our application and discussion posts, homework is a way of applying and practicing what was learned.

    Do you agree with some of the research we read in “Using Technology with Classroom Instruction That Works (Pitler, Hubbell, & Kuhn, 2012) about praise and recognition having negative affects on intrinsic motivation? I can see how it might if a student doesn’t achieve the same goal that merited your initial praise, but I’ve never thought too much about it before now. I’ve been trying to praise effort, but sometimes I think it’s important to recognize milestones and accomplishments, too!

    Thanks for your thoughts!! It was definitely an engaging read. 🙂

    Stephanie Battaglia
    3rd Grade
    Lake Orion, MI

    Like

Leave a comment